News on network members 2011


32 normal LIna M award


News on network members 2011

Network member Lina Mathias, who currently works at the Economic and Political Weekly, has just won the annual Comrade T K Sarmalkar Memorial Award presented by the Mumbai Marathi Patrakar Sangh for career writings on dalits, workers and housing issues. 

Also from Mumbai, Meena Menon’s book Riots and after in Mumbai was released in December. Earlier, the book Why loiter? Women and risk on Mumbai’s streets, co-authored by Sameera Khan, Shilpa Phadke and Shilpa Ranade, was released. Dilnaz Boga won the Agence France-Presse Kate Webb Prize for her reporting from Kashmir.

From Karnataka, Shamantakamani won an honorary award from the Karnataka Media Academy for her contributions to journalism. 

From Kerala, Reji R Nair was given the K M Ahamed Memorial Award for her contribution to journalism, with reference to her feature series ‘Anyajeevanuthakan Swajeevitham’ in Mathrubhumi. Shahina KK, currently with Open magazine, won the Chameli Devi award for an outstanding woman journalist. 

In Kolkata, Aditi Bhaduri bagged the Sarojini Naidu prize for reporting on women in Panchayati Raj. Ananya Chatterjee Chakraborty’s documentary Understanding Trafficking got the national award for a film on a topical issue. Ritusmita Biswas got the Laadli Award for gender reporting. Rina Mukherji had the privilege of being on the WASH team as one of two media persons for the South Asia Conference on Sanitation in Colombo, Sri Lanka, documenting on the issue of sanitation for United Nations Organization Project Services. Rajashri Dasgupta delivered a lecture at the Montreal International Women's Conference on The Indian paradox: hunger among plenty. Ranjita Biswas won a media scholarship to attend the International AIDS Conference in Rome in June 2011. Shoma A Chatterji was invited as a special press delegate to participate at the Cairo International Film Festival in October 2011.